The Imagined Sound of Sun on Stone

Concerto for Saxophone and Orchestra


Composition Date: 1999

Duration: 20'

Orchestration: solo Ssax / 2(pic).2.2(Bcl).2(cbsn)/



Commissioned by St. Magnus Festival & Swedish Chamber Orchestra. 


First performed by John Harle (sax) with the Scottish Chamber Orchestra, conducted by Joseph Swensen at St. Magnus Festival, Kirkwall 1999.


Programme Note:



Buy/Hire from Edition Peters



Available Recordings:


The Imagined Sound of Sun on Stone
Sally Beamish

(BIS, 2000)


Buy online

John Harle saxophone
Swedish Chamber Orchestra
Ola Rudner conductor

Sally Beamish narrator



1. The Caledonian Road

2. The Day Dawn

3. No I´m not afraid - Six poems by Irina Ratushinskaya

4. The Imagined Sound of Sun on Stone


Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

Follow on Social Media
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
  • w-facebook
  • Twitter Clean
  • White YouTube Icon