top of page

Viola Concerto No. 1

Composition Date: 1995

Duration: 20'

Orchestration: va/2(pic).2.2(Bcl).2/2.2.0./timp.perc/str, (pf reduction available)



Commissioned by Philip Dukes and first performed in the BBC Proms 1995 season by Philip Dukes with the London Mozart Players conducted by Matthias Bamert.

Programme Note:


Available Recordings:


BIS 1999

Robert Cohen (cello)

Philip Dukes (viola)

Gordon Hunt (oboe)

Swedish Chamber Orchestra

Ola Rudner (conductor)


Viola Concerto (1995)

Cello Concerto ‘River’ (1997)

Tam Lin (1993) for oboe and orchestra

Search By Tags
Follow on Social Media
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
  • YouTube - White Circle
bottom of page